Shakespeare In-The-Ruins

July 5, 2010 at 12:37 am (Live Performances, Much Ado About Nothing, Shakespeare's Plays) (, , , , , )

The ghosts of Southern belles are dancing in my imagination right now. I saw Much Ado About Nothing performed in the ruins of an antebellum finishing school today. It was the coolest thing! Well, it wasn’t cool. It was nearly 100 degrees and muggy when the play started. But it was really cool!

 
 

The Chesapeake Shakespeare Company performs outdoors, in the ruins of the Patapsco Female Institute in Ellicott City, Maryland (not far from Baltimore). I found this information about the ruins:

Situated on a hilltop overlooking the Patapsco River Valley in Historic Ellicott City, the Patapsco Female Institute was founded in 1837 and operated for more than 50 years as an elegant finishing school for young women. The stabilized ruins of the Greek Revival structure are open for tours, and serve as a beautiful setting for special events including Victorian teas and a summer open air theatre.

So, there were hoop skirts here. Young Southern belles during the Civil War. I bet they had dances like Scarlett O’Hara went to in Gone with the Wind. 

Anyway, what a cool place to see a play! Huge trees surround the ruins. For the 4th of July, they started the play at 5 PM so we would have plenty of time to get out to see fireworks afterward. The actors also read the entire Declaration of Independence before the performance. That was kind of amazing to hear! 

The seating is very casual and family friendly (kids get free admission to all performances). Some sat on blankets, others brought camp chairs. CSC provides 200 folding chairs, so I took one of those. We all moved around quite a lot to get out of the sun for the first 45 minutes or so. Once the shade from the trees kicked in, everything was much more pleasant. It would be really lovely in the evening. 

The CSC provides pre-performance entertainment (jugglers, activities), but I arrived at showtime, so missed out on that. You could make quite a day of the outing. Because it was a family-oriented performance, one of the actors began by taking the kids (and any interested grown-ups) aside to explain the plot of the play (with photos) so they’d be able to follow along better. I thought that was really nice. 

They did a great job with Much Ado About Nothing. The stage is a series of platforms and ramps built into the L-shaped side of the ruins. So, the actors perform there as well as using the many doors and windows of the ruins. It gives them a lot of flexibility and they use the space well. 

Lesley Malin as Beatrice in MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING, Photo by Teresa Castracane

This production is set during the Spanish Civil War in the 1930s. The acting is terrific! I enjoyed everyone. Beatrice has a lot of spunk and presence. You could see her cracking her gum in a Rosie the Riveter job. And she has that Big Band era chic… she looks great with her hair nets and stylish outfits. 

Katie Molinaro as Hero, Steven Hoochuk in MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING, Photo by Teresa Castracane

One thing I noticed in this production that was not evident in video versions or from reading the text — Margaret during and after Hero’s jilting at the altar. Wow. So, it’s Margaret at the window with Borachio (they staged the window scene quietly here). Then the next day, Claudio humiliates Hero at the altar and accuses her of being a whore. So, all the while, Ms. Margaret, Hero’s trusted servant… is doing what? Why wouldn’t she set things straight at the wedding (blushingly waving, ummm, ahemm, excuse me, can I say something?). I don’t remember seeing her at all during the post-jilting in the film versions. 

Well, here, I watched her on the stage. It was interesting. Everyone else ran to Hero’s aid when she fainted. Margaret stood aside, by herself, nervously playing with a bouquet and quietly contemplating her navel. I kept looking at her. Why wouldn’t she speak up? But then it worked for me. Here she is, a servant. The jilting is huge: Big Drama involving the daughter of the governor and all these important people. I could see then… it would be very difficult for Margaret to own up to the truth here (although I still think she could have done it later, in private). But here, the big scene, how strange it would be for a servant to pipe up with the news that Claudio and Don Pedro were mistaken and that it was she having sex with Borachio at her mistress’s window while he called her Hero. How would she explain that here? So then, I understood Margaret a bit more. 

Only one thing bothered me during the whole show. You may have noticed that I love Balthasar’s song, as I’ve started many of my posts about Much Ado by quoting it. So, I was looking forward to hearing it performed. Guess what? Balthasar sang it in Spanish in this production! Oh, darn. 

It was really fun to watch this play, it’s so entertaining… really a pleasant outing. If you’re in the area, I recommend catching a show here at the ruins. Hamlet is running in repertory this summer with Much Ado. It’s a lovely venue. 

And I got home in plenty of time to see fireworks. Happy 4th of July! 

James Jager as Claudio, Michael Sullivan as Benedick, Theo Hadjimichael as Don Pedro in MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING, Photo by Teresa Castracane

© All Content, Copyright 2010 by Blog Author, Or What You Will. All Rights Reserved. 

 Bookmark and Share

11 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    Katie, I really enjoyed this production with you — and I wasn’t even in the audience! The photos and your text really brought it to life for me. Lovely!

    • orwhatyouwill said,

      Hi Chris, how was my punctuation?! (j/k… I’m always worried now that you’ll note my faulty placement of commas! ha ha) Anyway, hey, if you’re up for joining me on an outing to a play some time, let me know! Maybe we could get Carole et al to join along.

  2. Not Your Grandma’s Shakespeare! « Or What You Will said,

    […] play’s action. The weather was picture perfect (in stark contrast to the humid heat at the Chesapeake Shakespeare Company performance I attended on the 4th of July) and there was a nice crowd assembled for the freebie […]

  3. Renee said,

    I lived in Ellicott City 20 years ago and I’d NEVER even heard of this. I’m sure that they weren’t doing plays there 20 years ago, but still, what a cool thing to have right down the street from my apartment!

    It sounds like a wonderful production and I wish I could have gone with you! Glad you had such a great time!

    • orwhatyouwill said,

      I was thinking of you while driving to EC… I went there 2x that week (took the kids to Enchanted Forest, too). I was really fascinated by the ruins… it wasn’t clear at all what the heck they were. They are in such good shape that they look almost fakey. There was no mention of what they were in the playbill, so I looked it up when I got home. Then it made sense. I think there was some kind of zoo nearby??? During the play I kept hearing some kind of animal (an elephant in my imagination, but maybe only because Scottie loves elephants so much and I think about them all the time!). I’ve never heard of a zoo in EC, so I need to look that up, too!

      • orwhatyouwill said,

        LOL you will laugh at me… so I can’t find anything about a zoo in EC. I am thinking now maybe it was horses?? or some kind of farm animal I heard. I am such a city girl, I have no clue about animal noises!!

  4. Carnival! « Or What You Will said,

    […] saw Chesapeake Shakespeare do Much Ado About Nothing last year, and I described their incredible outdoor performing space at the ruins of an antebellum […]

  5. Christopher Morgan said,

    One of the scenes that i have found particular interest is the scene in which Hero is accused. It’s here that the greatest report of the play is given, from there we see the reactions of all of the major characters of the play, in which almost all of them are different. It is interesting to me to see how each director depicts this scene. I just finished watching Kennith Barnagh version of Much ado and i noticed Margaret as well, she is pictured her as as bewildered deer in the head lights–O no! She like wise dose nothing…

    Any comments on major themes for the play? Or how the accusation scene was depicted?

    • John M. Gassaway said,

      Mary & William G. Gassaway owned Pattapsco Female Institute with a partner when It was known as the Hill Top Theater in the 1930’s. My grand Mother Mary B. Gassaway , use to tell me stories of how wonderful it was to have such activities going on in such a Grand Old school building . Sadly they couldn’t keep the building as a theater do to not being able to get enough patrons to make it possible to maintain the building properly . I wish My Grandmother was alive to go see one of the plays being put on again in the once grand old building . .

      • orwhatyouwill said,

        Thanks for commenting! How interesting and what a great connection for you. I hope that you have had a chance to see Chesapeake Shakespeare perform there. It’s a great space!

  6. Charm in Charm City « Or What You Will said,

    […] not stuffy,” and they do a wonderful job performing unstuffy Shakespeare all summer at their beautiful outdoor space in Ellicott City, Maryland. Kids get free admission to their shows, which are family-friendly and fun (well… I […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

