World of Shakespeare

February 15, 2010 at 10:09 pm (Asides) (, , , , )

I did it! I’m so excited. I wanted a nice set of the complete plays so I can read them comfortably without giving myself a concussion (like I’d get when I fall asleep reading the one-volume collection that I own!). Plus I’d lose my eyesight reading that tiny type on the onionskin paper. No thanks! Think I’ll be donating that dusty tome now!

So, a month or so ago when I got the idea for this blog, I started researching sets of single volumes. I thought about getting the Folger editions one by one and spreading out the cost. Then I saw this (click on the photo for the link to Amazon):

From the comments on Amazon, I realized that the price on this Pelican Shakespeare set fluctuates wildly, sometimes below $100, even down in the $50s. I’ve been watching it daily to see if the price would come down for me. It came down a few dollars in January, but that’s been it and I’ve lost patience.

I just ordered the set from one of the Marketprice sellers, and with shipping it’s still under $175. For 38 volumes, it’s about $4.60 per book, and they’re hardcover. That’s better than I could do for the Folger paperbacks which are $5.99 or $6.99 each plus shipping.

Of course, while I’m typing this entry, I got an email from eBay that someone just listed the whole set with a BIN of $99. This is quite a deal (under $3/book)! [Adding 3/7/10: The set didn’t sell on eBay and was relisted for $89.99 here.] Murphy’s law, but maybe one of you can take advantage of that price! Anyway, I had some Christmas money burning a hole in my pocket, so I don’t feel too bad, but the timing is annoying!

I guess I need to clear a bookcase off for them now. I can’t wait to get them and start reading!

Tomorrow, I blog about West Side Story, Daddy-O.

© All Content, Copyright 2010 by Blog Author, Or What You Will. All Rights Reserved.

Bookmark and Share

5 Comments

  1. Escaping the Bonds of Erasable Bond « Or What You Will said,

    […] a happy note… my big box o’ books came today! I will be reading Shakespeare this […]

  2. jamie said,

    Hello,
    I have this same set in my bookcase. I was one of the lucky ones to get it for just under $60.00. It’s a really nice, comfortable set with informative annotations etc. Well worth 3 times what I paid for it.

    Jamie

    • orwhatyouwill said,

      Lucky you! Yes, I feel fine with the price I paid, but you get to buy some tix to see some good shows with the money you saved! 🙂

  3. A Different Tack « Or What You Will said,

    […] each play. It’s not the same as seeing live performances, but it helps. As the notes in my Pelican Shakespeare editions emphasize, Shakespeare’s only intention was performance, and the texts that exist of […]

  4. Worthy of Magritte « Or What You Will said,

    […] Pelican Shakespeare edition that I am reading notes that actors often pull double duty in the Theseus/Oberon and […]

Leave a Reply

