West Side Story Meets Flashdance Meets the Sopranos

March 9, 2010 at 7:41 pm (Film Adaptations, Romeo and Juliet) (, , , , , , )

Let me preface this by saying I am not a fan of gritty, urban drama. I have a low threshold for watching violence and gore in movies. I have a basic rule against watching mafia movies.

So, China Girl never had a chance with me. I know that other people don’t share my squeamishness, so I’ll put this out there. Maybe there is someone who will appreciate this film. It is Romeo and Juliet transplanted to 1980s Manhattan. The warring gangs are Chinese in Chinatown versus Italians in Little Italy. There are Shakespearean parallels.

This one is not on DVD, so I watched an old VHS tape in my old machine. There was a lot of background noise, so I didn’t hear all the dialog. I think the basic issue between the gangs has to do with a Chinese restaurant opening in Little Italy. The street thugs aren’t happy about it and they start fighting. But then the real mobsters (both Italian and Chinese) have a different agreement.

After that, in my mind, there’s just a mess of confusion/shooting/stabbing/hanging/fighting in the streets. I’m not sure what it’s all about. There are quite a few bloody bodies.

In the midst of it, Tye (the China Girl of the title) and Tony fall in puppy love. It doesn’t end well for them.

That’s all I have the stomach to say about this movie. David Caruso fans might enjoy it for his part as the fiery Mercury.

This one’s on the way to the trash can unless one of my readers would like it. Leave a comment or email me with your snail mail address and it’s yours!

© All Content, Copyright 2010 by Blog Author, Or What You Will. All Rights Reserved.

Bookmark and Share

2 Comments

  1. Jamie said,

    Okay, I’m not huge fan of David Caruso any way, but is his characters name is really Johnny Mercury? I am having a hard time just saying that name out loud and not laughing! Sound’s like a Private Eye from an old time radio show, “Johnny Mercury – Man of action!” I’m guessing this was there take on the name Mercutio.

    • orwhatyouwill said,

      Yeah, he was the Mercutio character… I thought he was just mean and creepy, though. Want to watch it? I’m eager to get it out of my house! 🙂

Leave a Reply

