Fluffisimo

April 23, 2010 at 10:19 pm (A Midsummer Night's Dream, Film Adaptations, Shakespeare's Plays) (, , , , , )

Get Over It is a teenybopper flick, but it’s a good one—funny and cute and a little bit sweet. Granted, it’s fluffisimo, but it’s way more watchable than the opera. Berke (Ben Foster) is dumped by his girlfriend Allison (Melissa Sagemiller). In an effort to win her back, he tries out for their high school’s spring musical, “A Midsummer Night’s Rockin’ Eve.” Okay, yes, please laugh now. At his audition, Berke sings the Big Red chewing gum ditty. It’s fine, go ahead and laugh!

In the meantime, Allison has taken up with Striker (Shane West) who has a fake accent and made a pop music video called Love S.C.U.D. They play Hermia and Demetrius in the musical. Berke’s buddy Felix’s kid sister Kelly (Kirsten Dunst) plays Helena. Due to deus ex machina (not due to his Big Red singing debut!), Berke gets to play Lysander.

So, we have the Shakespearean love quadrangle. Not that this is really about sticking strictly to Shakespeare’s story line. As the musical begins:

Did ya ever read a Shakespeare play
And never understand a word they say?
Well, tonight we’re gonna make things clear
‘Cause Shakespeare’s dead, but  we’re all here!

Shakespeare is all around in this film, though. Berke has a tendency to daydream himself into fairyland and the forest. His daydreams are pretty funny and we get to see Lysander and Demetrius sword fight!

I really like some of the minor characters. Martin Short is very funny as the play’s egotistical, bungling, Bottomesque director, Dr. Forrest Oates. Swoosie Kurtz and Ed Begley Jr are good as Berke’s overly-permissive parents (who happen to have a sex therapy show on TV). And I always love Mila Kunis, who plays Kelly’s friend and a member of the chorus in the musical.

Hey, they even fit a Dr. Seuss reference in for me. Striker gets angry when Berke ad libs his lines during the musical and he decides to ad lib some of his own:

I do not like it in a moat.
I do not like it in a boat.
I do not like it in a car.

Okay, not exactly Green Eggs and Ham, but it still had me laughing! It was a good way to celebrate the birthday of the Bard!

© All Content, Copyright 2010 by Blog Author, Or What You Will. All Rights Reserved.

Bookmark and Share
8 Comments

  1. Tue Sorensen said,

    Happy Shakespeare’s birthday! 🙂 I haven’t seen Get Over It, but I trust your taste in movies, so I will be seeing it eventually.

    I am celebrating today with a friend by watching Men of Respect (a John Turturro gangster movie based on Macbeth) and either the Oliver Parker Othello or the Zeffirelli Taming of the Shrew! 🙂

    • orwhatyouwill said,

      You may learn not to trust my taste in movies! Ha!

      So which movie did you watch? I was gonna try to see another live performance tonight, but I was too tired… it looked really good though: http://www.mdshakes.org/featured/last-bare-bard-of-the-season-midsummer/

      Instead, I finished reading through the text again. I’m going to start posting about it finally. 🙂

      • Tue Sorensen said,

        “Bare Bard”? Sounds unmissable! Too bad you missed it anyway… :-/

        We saw Men of Respect (which was OK, it followed the play very closely) and Othello, which is perhaps the fourth time I’ve seen it – every single one of the actors are really good!

        Still haven’t seen this Burton/Taylor version of Taming of the Shrew, but will do very soon.

        Did I mention that I recently watched the BBC Pericles? It was really great (9 out of 10), and I am going to watch it again in order to compare it properly with The Winter’s Tale, with which it shares several features.

  2. Renee said,

    is this one n Netflix too? I’ll watch it just because you tell me to! LOL!

    • orwhatyouwill said,

      Yeppers. Send me some money. Send me some money. (subliminal suggestion)

  3. Chris said,

    Katie, after reading your blog entries, it appears to be true: it all comes back to Shakespeare! How fun!

    • orwhatyouwill said,

      Except the Terror. I’d be hard pressed to find a connection there. Brrr.

      • orwhatyouwill said,

        Chris, you will laugh at what I’ve been thinking about. I went to see The Runaways last weekend with my friends that you will meet next month if you come to the book thing (which reminds me, we’re changing the date and time to meet downtown and see the boating party at the Phillips in honor of the book none of us has read yet… I hope you can make it!). Anyway, there’s this song the Runaways did called Cherry Bomb… and I have been mulling over how to fit it into the blog. Ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch cherry bomb. Where there’s a will there’s a way. My kids heard me singing it this morning and they say ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch Stink Bomb! Anyway, there are Shakespearean connections everywhere. I was listening to the radio in the car this morning and Jakob Dylan’s song Something Good This Way Comes was playing. I heard an old 60s tune called Romeo and Juliet the other day. It’s everywhere. 🙂 Ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch CHERRY BOMB! I’ll fit it in. You’ll see. Ha!

Leave a Reply

