Wherefore Art Thou Gnomeo?

March 6, 2011 at 6:49 pm (Film Adaptations, Romeo and Juliet, Shakespeare's Plays) (, , , , , )

Here’s the post you have all been waiting for! I have had no time to read Shakespeare lately, but I did have time to go to a movie on a rainy day today, and the kids wanted to see Gnomeo and Juliet. We waited out in the cold rain in a long line and we finagled the last tickets to the sold-out show (and boy, I woulda been p.o.’d if I’d waited in the rain and been turned away!). Got into the show a little late, but I think we only missed a minute or two. Had to sit in the front row, so have a bit of a crick in my neck now from staring up at the screen.

So, ummm, yeah. That’s how I spent my afternoon. Goofy pottery garden gnomes: blue ones at the blue house, red ones next door. You guessed it. They don’t get along. Blue Gnomeo falls for red Juliet. Froggie Nanette (aka Juliet’s Nurse) warns Juliet. The talking statue of Bill Shakespeare warns Gnomeo. There can be no happy ending, right?

Wrong. There are several moments when we believe our hero is a goner, but it’s just a tempest in a teapot. Tybalt crashes dramatically to smithereens, but nothing a pot of apoxy won’t fix.

Worth watching? I don’t know. Not to me. I am not a fan of many modern kids movies. All the animated hyper-drive silliness. As far as Shakespearean… um, really, I think Romeo and Juliet Sealed with a Kiss did a slightly better job sticking with the story. I don’t remember drag racing and a giant lawnmower/earthmover in Shakespeare’s version. I can’t remember Elton John singalongs, either. 

Was it awful? No, it’s watchable. Mildly amusing. I kind of enjoyed one line (in the whole movie! yay me!) where Juliet’s dad says she needs to be put back up on her pedestal for good. And she’s glued there. I thought there was some insight there. But it was fleeting.

The kids didn’t mind any of this or the inconveniences, getting soaked in the rain, almost getting sold out, no time for popcorn, sitting almost under the screen. They loved this movie! Mesmerized. There was a round of applause from the full house at the end! Bravo!

P.S. I’m going to really, really try to get back to my project here and actually read Shakespeare! I need it! Love’s Labour’s Lost, here I come!

© All Content, Copyright 2011 by Blog Author, Or What You Will. All Rights Reserved.

Bookmark and Share
4 Comments

  1. Tue Sorensen said,

    I haven’t seen G&J, but, yeah, it does look like Shakespeare So Lite It Ain’t Shakespeare At All… I probably won’t bother with this anytime soon…

    By the way, good to have you back in the blogosphere! Stick with it now! 🙂

    • orwhatyouwill said,

      Good call on not bothering with this one. I can’t really imagine an adult going to this voluntarily without little kids. Although today a friend of mine said she enjoyed it (she has little kids). I am tough on kids movies. I generally sit through them without really watching. It’s a sort of meditation, I think.

  2. dhansenx said,

    We saw it with my 8 year-old and 5 year-old, who were entertained and (ka-CHING!) now Elton John fans, which I think was the whole point of this (Elton John, Executive Producer) endeavor.

    We also brought two of their friends. I aksed the 6 year-old boy what he thought, and he said candidly, “There were only two parts that were funny.” So there you are.

    As for the Shakespeare stuff, I want to know how many in that audience, any audience, appreciated or were even interested in references like “Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Moving Company” or how that even passes for knowing humor. I am surprised they chose to cleave as close to the original story as they did — no one cares.

    • orwhatyouwill said,

      My kids (6 and 9) loved it. My 6 year old does not like a lot of movies, but he was engaged during the whole thing. It helped (me) that it was short. A lot of times I’m sitting there for way longer than I think is necessary. This one, craning my neck… I think I had even less patience, but it ended in a timely manner. 🙂

      You’re right, the Shakespeare stuff is really unnecessary and no one cares. I thought if they had called it something else entirely and left out Will Shakespeare’s statue, would I even have seen the R&J parallel? LOL Think about that!

Leave a Reply

